Roundup · tens units

TENS 7000 vs AUVON 4th Gen: TENS Unit Head-to-Head (2026)

TENS 7000 vs AUVON 4th Gen, compared from manufacturer specs and buyer reviews: power source, modes, pads, size and track record, and who each one suits best.

Affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, this site earns from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

tens units editorial composition
On this page

The TENS 7000 has been a default consumer TENS unit for a long time; its listing calls it “a leader since 2008.” The AUVON 4th Generation is the modern challenger: more modes, more compact, rechargeable.

We compared them from manufacturer specs and buyer reviews on Amazon, with attention to back pain, sciatica, and general muscle tension. Here’s how they compare.

Quick verdict

For a simple, long-established unit: TENS 7000. Simpler interface, swappable 9V battery, a long track record.

For convenience and modern UX: AUVON 4th Gen. More modes, USB charging, smaller form factor, easier daily use.

One-line answer: TENS 7000 for serious pain management; AUVON for general use and convenience.

At a glance

SpecTENS 7000AUVON 4th Gen
ChannelsNot stated (2 lead wires)2 (A and B, separate modes and intensities)
Preset modes”Multiple TENS therapy modes”Up to 20
Power9V battery (included)Built-in lithium-ion, USB charging
Pads includedFour-pack8 (4 x 2”, 4 x 2” x 4”)
WarrantyNot stated24 months

Round 1: Output intensity

The most important spec for a TENS unit is whether it can produce enough stimulation to actually do work. Neither listing states a maximum output, so we can’t compare the numbers. Amazon’s summary of buyer reviews mentions power as a plus for both: owners appreciate the TENS 7000’s power, and call the AUVON strong for its size.

Round 1 winner: No clear winner from the listings.

Round 2: Modes and presets

TENS 7000: The listing says “multiple TENS therapy modes” without giving a count. The interface is simpler: fewer buttons, fewer options, less to navigate. Some users prefer this; some want more variety.

AUVON 4th Gen: Up to 20 preset modes (hammering, kneading, shiatsu and more, per AUVON), and you can run a different mode and intensity on each channel. Variety is the selling point.

The honest assessment: the mode count is partly marketing. But the variety is real for users who want to experiment.

Round 2 winner: AUVON, slightly. More variety, even if you won’t use all of it.

Round 3: Power source and convenience

TENS 7000: 9V battery powered, one included. Easy to replace when dead; carry a spare. Buyers are mixed on battery life: some say it’s great, others say it dies quickly.

AUVON 4th Gen: Built-in lithium-ion battery, charged with the included USB cable. Amazon’s summary of buyer reviews says the battery lasts a long time and charges quickly. Convenient if you remember to charge; less convenient if you forget.

Round 3 winner: AUVON. USB charging is the modern default and removes the need for buying batteries.

Round 4: Form factor and aesthetics

TENS 7000: Looks like clinical equipment because that’s what it is. Ships with a hard carrying case.

AUVON 4th Gen: Slimmer, modern aesthetic. AUVON lists it at 4.12 x 2.24 x 0.43 inches, and it comes with a pouch. More travel-friendly.

Round 4 winner: AUVON. Pure preference category.

Round 5: Electrode pad quality and longevity

TENS 7000: Includes a four-pack of reusable electrode pads.

AUVON 4th Gen: Includes 8 pads: 4 square 2-inch pads for compact areas like knees or elbows, and 4 larger 2 x 4 inch pads for areas such as the back. AUVON says its pads stick for up to 45 uses.

Round 5 winner: AUVON, marginally. More pads in the box, and two sizes.

Round 6: Reliability and durability

TENS 7000: On the market a long time; the listing says over 3 million have been sold. Several buyers still report reliability issues, with the device stopping working or not turning on.

AUVON 4th Gen: Newer product (first available on Amazon in July 2018, per the listing). Some buyers report it stopped working, while many find it durable. AUVON backs it with a 24-month warranty.

Round 6 winner: TENS 7000, on track record. Buyers report reliability problems with both.

Who should pick which

Buy the TENS 7000 if:

  • You have chronic pain that responds to TENS
  • You’ve used a clinical TENS unit before and want a home equivalent
  • A long track record matters more than features
  • You don’t care about USB charging or modern UX
  • You’d rather swap a battery than recharge

Buy the AUVON 4th Gen if:

  • You’re new to TENS units and want to explore the category
  • USB charging matters (no battery purchases)
  • Form factor and aesthetics matter to you
  • You’ll use it occasionally or moderately
  • You travel with it (smaller, USB charge anywhere)

Pad placement: where it actually matters

The AUVON ships with 2-inch square and 2 x 4 inch pads; the TENS 7000 listing doesn’t give its pad size. Common applications:

  • Lower back pain: 4 pads in a vertical configuration on either side of the spine. Both units can run two pad pairs here.
  • Sciatica: Pads on the glute and upper hamstring.
  • Shoulder/upper trap: 2 pads on each upper trap. Either unit works.
  • Knee pain: 4 pads around the kneecap. AUVON recommends its smaller 2-inch pads for compact areas like the knees.

For chronic back pain users, see our TENS units for back pain roundup for specific application protocols.

FAQ

Can I use either with a pacemaker? No. TENS is contraindicated with cardiac pacemakers, implanted defibrillators, and certain other implants; AUVON’s listing says its unit should not be used by people with pacemakers. Consult your cardiologist.

Can TENS help my sciatica? It may ease symptoms during flares for some users; it is rarely the main fix. Sciatica from disc compression or piriformis tightness needs the underlying cause addressed. Combine with mobility work (see our mobility ball roundup) and a plan from your clinician.

Can I use it during pregnancy? AUVON’s listing says its unit should not be used by pregnant women. Avoid abdominal application with any unit, and ask your obstetrician before using TENS while pregnant, particularly if you’re high-risk or in the first trimester.

How long should each session be? Follow your unit’s manual and your clinician’s advice. Longer sessions don’t provide proportionally more benefit and can cause skin irritation.

What if the pads don’t stick anymore? Replace them. Pad adhesion degrades with use, skin oils and care. Don’t try to “wake up” old pads with water; it doesn’t restore adhesive long-term and can cause skin irritation.

Can I share pads between TENS 7000 and AUVON? Pads are interchangeable across TENS units that use the same connector. Check connector compatibility before assuming cross-compatibility.

Where to buy

Top pick, TENS 7000: Check current price on Amazon

Modern alternative, AUVON 4th Gen: Check current price on Amazon

Read the individual reviews:

Final word

The TENS 7000 is the right choice for users who treat TENS as serious pain management. The AUVON 4th Gen is the right choice for users who treat TENS as a wellness tool with occasional pain-relief application. Pick based on your relationship to the device: clinical tool versus daily-life accessory.

Not medical advice. We publish consumer product reviews; consult a licensed PT before changing your routine. We earn commissions on qualifying Amazon purchases.